Uphill Battles

Sometimes the mountains that we climb seem too steep, familiar things seem all wonky, and even the morning light can't straighten it all out. Sometimes the sustained pressure of a demanding life can feel lethal. Sometimes earth just hurts so much, there isn't even any point in tears, so you just don't cry them. Sometimes it takes your breath away, when you realize that everything you've done to save yourself, will still leave you broke and frightened.

In my day job, I look into the eyes of so many little old people who are facing the disasters we all pray we will avoid, that I can experience a sustained grief for them all that lasts so long, it just makes me sick. Then a miracle happens. A friend, out of the blue, looks me in the eye and says, "how are you, really??" and I am amazed at the relief provided by that one person who will share the load and just take a few moments to hear from my heart, how I really am.

At the end of the day, the miracle of a restful evening at the Cottage, and a lovely dinner brought to me there by my Beloved. He shares with me a movie, Fried Green Tomatoes and a Sweetheart Gift that I will see in real life tomorrow, but tonight I see it on blip. He has installed windows into my little garden shed, and devised sweet curtains made from old flour sacks, curtains that will rise and fall in smooth operation because of his genius and some strings and pulleys. I love them :-)

The world is still wonky. There are still way too many little old ladies and little old gentlemen who are desperate for someone to help them through their troubles. There are still far too few of those who can help, and far too few real connections being made in our world today, but every tiny bit of love and compassion that I receive, I want to turn right back around and send it out as praise to God for His goodness, and pray for strength to do another day so that others will be touched by that love too.

I wish you, my blip friends, a pleasant and restful weekend. May your uphill battles be few and your blessings be many. May you always practice gratitude until it becomes a way of life for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.