Cigano Clothesline

When I went out to our clothesline today, saw this one below it, belonging to the Ciganos* who appear to have set up home there.

*Just below our Land is the church and another building, currently being used as a late night bar (because of COVID restrictions on bars in town, I guess), by the people the Portuguese call ciganos. I know gypsy is considered derogatory, but Roma isn't a term the people here recognize, so hope it's OK to call them what they call themselves, ciganos (I have asked them). Wikipedia says this: "Another common designation of the Romani people is Cingane, which likely derives from Athinganoi the name of a Christian sect with whom the Romani (or some related group) became associated in the Middle Ages." Seems fairly innocuous to me, and I quite often avoid referring to our closest neighbours on Blip because of this problem - that I know English speakers consider gypsy derogatory, but Roma isn't a word they themselves recognize - so, until I learn something else, will call them Ciganos. Comments welcome.

Just off for pizza with the English pilot family and Cecílio and Ermelinda, hoping they'll enjoy getting to know each other. 

Thanks for all the wishes for me after yesterday's mishap, I'm OK, just sore.

Gratefuls:
- re-reading A Wrinkle in Time, by Madeleine L'Engle, whilst soaking in the wine vat
- watching a collared dove in the bay tree - the birds are still so shy, have to stay totally still for them to sit nearby
- loads of new leaves on our two grapefruit trees

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.