AMK49

By AMK49

Looking down the Gully

I was out on a visit this afternoon and on the way home I decided to take a detour and look down on the farm where I was brought up and which was sold by my brother a few years ago.

The sheep in the foreground are in what we called the Gully field with its steep sides - apparently it was ploughed up during WW2 but to the best of my knowledge hasn’t been since. This is where my brother and I scattered my dad’s ashes in 2004.

I haven’t been back to the farm since it was sold but in the far distance I could see where the the old pan tile roofs on the steading have been  replaced with modern roofing - the original roof was certainly not in a good state in parts.

The extra shows the Gazanias still flowering well in the rockery which I built using stones from the farm that had been lifted from the fields many years ago. I like to feel I still have part of the farm in my own garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.