Les Johnnies

I loved those stories of the Breton onion sellers hawking onions. A early example of farmers asserting some control of the produce value chain. More here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Onion_Johnny


These are Tropea onions that did very well.


A hot day touching 34c. Planted out more leeks after swearing never to grow the (literally) rotters here again. The leek moth has devastated the growing stem these last two seasons. But, fool that I am, I’m trying growing store-raised plants under fleece (which goes under the baffling name in Italian of tessuto non tessuto - woven non woven cloth aka fleece).

We had our first melon from the garden. I couldn’t wait to get it to the table and ate half of it as I went about watering the crops. It’s not the Charentes Maritime but it was delicious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.