Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

I remember you...

One of my strongest, clearest, happiest memories of childhood - sitting on my Dad's knee before bedtime, playing the "What is..." game...

Me: "What's that picture made of?"

Dad: "Paint and paper."

Me: "What's paper made of?"

Dad: "Most often from wood."

Me: "What's wood made of?"

And on it went, until the absolute source of every constituent part was explained or my ever patient Father decided it was way past my bedtime.

This is that picture which adorned the fireplace wall. The family "original" is now lost in some siblings' attic or somesuch place I know not where - another thing "lost" in the aftermath of grief.

But I walked past a shop today and there it was in the window in various forms - mugs, fridge magnets, coasters etc. Its time to be "retro" has arrived it seems. Its name is Lady of the Orient, created by Vladimir Tretchikoff. He painted several variants on this theme so no doubt you'll recognise it or something like it.

It made me laugh out loud and has left me smiling at the memories and feelings it evokes all day. Especially whenever I walk past our newly adorned fridge...:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.