Ireby, Old Church

I dropped Mr P in Keswick so he could finish as much of the Cumbrian Way as he wanted. The last few miles into Carlisle are reportedly quite dull.  We'd a B&B booked in a pub in Caldbeck and I had the day to myself. Mr P recommended I walk up Binsey,  a Wainwright because that's what he would do.  I did , it was an uninspiring  walk with not a bad view from the top  - extras. But parked up at  Binsey, drinking coffee and  and wondering where to go next, I saw a sign to Ireby. I keep a list on my phone of places I want to visit. The Grade 1 listed,  12C old church at Ireby was on the list. 
A few hours later, fields crossed and cows circumnavigated, I found the remains of the old church . Delighted to find it was open  and ate my  lunch in the cool. Lots of interesting medieval features. If you zoom in you can see unusual carvings above the windows.  Interior in extras. Much more interesting than Binsey- extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.