DANCING WITH BUTTERFLIES

Spion Kop, the old clifftop cemetery, was dancing and hopping with butterflies and grasshoppers today, particularly Small Whites and Common Blues (bottom right, above) like flakes of sky blowing in the air. Others were 6-Spot Burnet Moths (top left), Peacocks (top centre), Wall Brown (top right), Grayling (bottom left), and also lots of Meadow Browns, Small Heaths and Gatekeepers. Beyond the walls and down the cliff there was plenty of space on the beaches (extra). It was a lovely afternoon to be out.

I was very sad to hear last night that my GP has died. He was a truly kind and caring man who always gave as much time as was needed, really listened and never made anyone feel rushed. He retired early last summer with cancer and because I haven't had to see a doctor since then I still think of him as my GP. There are hundreds of tributes on the surgery FB page all praising the same qualities. He'll be missed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.