My TV

Comes from this mast, on the Sandy Heath.  It's 800ft tall, but the tip is over 900ft above sea level so it's a significant obstruction for aircraft if the visibility is at all limited.  A colleague of mine managed to hit one of the support cables of a similar mast to the west while flying a Jaguar, decades ago.  He landed the aircraft safely, but it would have been rather traumatic.

Wikipedia's entry for the mast describes it as a transmitter, but I would have thought that it was just the aerial; I'm sure that someone will disabuse me if I'm wrong.

And in other news, my new iMac is now equipped with 40Gb of RAM. I bought it a few weeks ago (it arrived last week) with the minimum RAM (8Gb) as Apple charges such extortionate amounts for upgrades; I thought that I'd be able to cope with 8Gb for a while, but it was horribly slow at anything to do with imaging, so I bought an extra 32Gb for about a third of Apple's prices and it now whizzes – as it should, of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.