and through the wire...

By hesscat

Weather the Weather

Hmmm... what a day that was... I had already taken 2 sets of photos of all the rain, then after dinner we settled down for a movie. Initially I suggested disaster movie Twister, but Ms H wanted The Day After Tomorrow and once I found where we could stream it from, we settled down. 

Within 15 mins, there were flashes outside as thunderstorms predicted for earlier in the day came over us. It was totally surreal watching the film, about extreme weather conditions, including thunderstorms, while we could see the sky outside lighting up, all around us, often unsure if the thunder was on the TV or not, sometimes both. We stopped several times to watch out the window. If you like disaster movies, then I recommend you watch this film in a storm, we were all even more on the edge. 

I have never seen so much sheet lightning, every 5 seconds for several hours, it is mostly gone but the forecast suggests it may keep going until 7am. As it happens I am on a series of 3 mid-nightshifts so it may keep me company.

The blip is the sky lit up at 10.30pm, it took a lot of attempts to catch it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.