Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Atomic Sunset

I had another creative story for you this evening, but when I saw the sunset tonight I knew I had to run out and try to capture it.  The upper atmosphere has been unsettled all day with a forecast for violent thunderstorms tonight.  But where there are storm clouds brewing, there are usually great sunsets.  Tonight was no disappointment.  

Originally, I just wanted to capture the fluffy clouds lumbering overhead.  But as I watched, the clouds moved swiftly together.  Then as the sun was setting, they changed from brilliant yellow, to orange, to red and then to magenta.  After shooting this image, I ran upstairs to my upper deck (see extra).  

The image above is looking to the east towards downtown Reno, Nevada.  The extra image is looking southwest towards the mountains and Lake Tahoe on the other side.  

Thank you all so much for your wonderful comments.  They mean so much to me.  I confess I am not at my best right now.  But I have hope for better days.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.