The place to myself

Not surprising really, given the temperature. 

I'd just made a decision not to stop in Hawes for my first cafe because the heat was rapidly ramping up and I still had a couple of hills to do.  Thankfully, on the left hand side, a cloud was building up ready to give me a bit of shade near the top.  With the sun still quite low, I also had a bit more shade from the odd tree although I was dreaming of a Canaries pine forest along with some cool air.

I was ready for a stop by the time I was in Settle. 

My choice of ride might not have been ideal for a couple of reasons but my calf, on the whole, behaved - and I did have the choice of turning back the way I came on the first hill or, worst case, catching a train from Settle if I'd needed it. I thought I was going to suffer leaving the cafe as the temperature was getting a little crazy but I'd cooled off enough to make it up the hill with a hairdryer blowing in my face.  The breeze did make a difference though - it wasn't quite as hot as me - and it's the first time I've been pleased of a headwind home.  

Conscious of a storm forecast, and frankly, it was too hot - I ditched the idea of a cafe every ten miles from lunch and gently made it home without too much of a to-do.  There was rather a mammoth cloud building up as I left my empty plate behind but nothing has materialised here yet.




______
And with help from 60plus, here's my entry for Wide Wednesday! Even discovered a new fab song. "On the road again"  Thanks, 60p!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.