Following the River

A trip down to the border this afternoon to see the boys on their Wedding Anniversary. It was a gorgeous day so we took a walk along the banks of the river Tweed...something I’ve never done before despite being brought up in North Northumberland! We ended up having fish n chips with them and I may have helped them finish off some alcoholic beverages!

I knew as soon as the trip was planned that I’d be blipping the bridges, this time I’ve got them from the opposite direction...the Royal Border Bridge with the castle ruins to its left, the new road bridge and the old road bridge. My usual view is in extras taken from their flat just before we left for home! 

My second extra is the window of the old forlorn Berwick Cockles shop...a great north eastern delicacy which along with Black Bullets formed the staple gifts on any day my father celebrated. Us five children then helped him out by eating them...you knew you’d come of age when you were allowed a whole Black Bullet!

Thanks to RockArea for hosting Wide Wednesday this week...I’ve chosen the Rolling Stones “Following the River” as my song title. Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.