rb231

By rb231

Cockenzie

It had been a while since Effie passed away. Today Fiona wanted to put some flowers at her grave so I took the boys for a wee wander round this part of Scotland's most prominent landmark. I've been to many places in Edinburgh, East Lothian and Fife where Cockenzie Power Station contributes to the landscape. I believe it's now well past its decommissioning date but it continues to splutter out smoke and electricity and shows no sign of disappearing from view - like some menacing dragon who keeps us warm with his fiery breath.

I can't remember the coast before this structure was built. We were once driving past here and one of the kids - I think it was Samuel - looked up at the smoke billowing out of the chimneys and asked "Is that where they make clouds?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.