OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Horse

I got the bus to the village of Horseman, I mean, Norseman. It isn't a village really, just some houses that built up around the Norseman Garage. I walked up to the hide at RSPB Cottasgarth even though I knew it would still be locked up, but I was going to sit by it and see what was about. A family of stonechats was there and a pair of calling red-throated diver went over but I did not stay long as I had overlooked the presence of midges! I walked back to the Lyde road then up the hill to catch any breeze but to no avail. I did run into Happy Valley ( don't know how to link that) another blipper with her two beautiful dogs. Back down the road and along to Loch of Brockan which held 4 heron, 100+ lapwing etc plus a nice dark morph Arctic skua which was bathing (extra). Light wasn't too good. I like horses in long grasses- makes them look wild. The whiteness of this horse gives it a marmoreal look. You have to look it up now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.