Getting Back on the Horse

I bit the bullet and went for a short drive today. It has been several months since I drove the car - firstly because from the start of lockdown, I wasn't allowed to go anywhere, then I wasn't allowed to drive for a minimum of 4 weeks after my stroke. My doctor said he was happy for me to resume driving so I thought I'd venture out just to make sure I could still remember how to do it. I only ventured a couple of miles to check on a spot that is often good for butterflies. There were plenty around, but almost all whites - we've had a big irruption recently from a nearby oilseed rape field. There were Large Whites, Small Whites and plenty of these Green-veined Whites. I also checked out a small area of beech woodland where there were a couple of species of Amanita fruiting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.