Dutch tales

By ThisIsGerda

A must read

No walk today, so I thought I'd share the book I finished earlier in the week. A very good book! The true story of Tara Westover, growing up on a farm, with a probably bipolar father who lived by all kinds of conspiracy theories. Government is out to get you. So the birth of the younger children doesn't get reported. The older children are taken from school. None of them get any education or medical care. The mother heals with potions and ointments. And she sort of homeschools in a very minor way.

Tara manages to study herself for an ACT and get into college with passing the ACT test.
The book got 5 out of 5 stars from me.

My review :
What a story! Hard to imagine it is all for real. Hard to imagine what it's like to grow up in a situation like that.

I'm not religious, but this book is filled with so many circumstances where providence provides a (relative) good ending to (very) bad situations. The father in this book gets away with all of it and gets proven right time and time again. Which makes it for his children even harder to doubt his righteousness.

I can't begin to imagine how hard it must be to get away from it all. Fortunately Tara had some help here and there and her own share of good providence. But of course it was mostly her own resilience, intelligence, perseverance that made it all happen.

I just need to let it sink in. What a woman to admire. What a struggle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.