Marsupium Photography

By magi

let my blood be a seed of freedom

I've always been intrigued by this artwork outside Romero Place, part of Pollock Halls. Friends of mine lived there when I first came to Edinburgh in the mid-nineties. It's been on my blip list for ages and today is the day.

Oscar Romero was Archbishop of San Salvador when he was assassinated on 24th March 1980. He was considered conservative although he very much supported the poor and seeked to find the truth behind people disappearing El Salvador. He was canonised in Rome on 14th October 2018. There is also an entry for this artwork in the University's collection.

I am still intrigued by the artwork. It stands out on Dalkeith Road. It commemorates an interesting person who stood up and died for truth. 

Passed through Pollock Halls on our walk and admired the exuberant lilies (see extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.