Housewife's Choice

By christilou

Thank You Mr Slater.....

for helping me to cook a meal this evening! I receive a cook book every Christmas from my family in the hope that I will be able to produce something to their liking other than the staples I usually serve up. I've no interest in cooking, never have really even though my mum was a great cook. I can follow a recipe and I have a reasonable working knowledge of the various procedures. I even love to watch Master Chef but when it comes to doing it myself....... :( Anyway, I managed to cook lamb shanks with cumin, coriander, chilli and apricots served with cous cous tonight and it went down quite well. I can't help feeling that it's a lot of work and clearing up for 5 minutes eating time. Now even my hair smells of meat.

Love Nigel Slater's writing though. This is much more than a recipe book :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.