Drama o' the Day

There was a terrible commotion in the driveway--multiple birds squawking and flapping and wings whirring, carrying on. Our two cats were riveted at the screen door, taking it all in. I finally dragged myself out into the heat* to see what was going on, but by that time everyone had left except this guy hiding in the fig tree. Even though his mouth was wide open, he wasn't making a sound, just swiveling his head around, looking hopefully in every direction. The best I can figure is he's a youngster who'd got in trouble and then been stashed there by the parents; next time I looked he was gone. 

* I do not use the term loosely. See extra for the evidence. It got to 105 before beginning to drop around 5 o'clock. Neither of us can remember it ever being that hot here, ever. I always complain that the inside of our house is so cold, but today I was very happy to have that buffer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.