VJ75 - Gloucester War Memorial

Attended the wreath laying ceremony today for capitulation ofJapan which happened on this day 75 years ago. 
There was a BBC Cameraman there too, should be on the BBC West news this evening.
Not a great photograph of me, I think I look deformed but I should have taken the biking jacket off and just worn my RBLR fleece and cut. My legs always look like that, I don't know that I did but I think I must have suffered from rickets when I was a small child! I do know I was premature so maybe that is what happened to my legs. I've never been able to put my knees together unless I actually bend my legs. Didn't affect my marching though :-)
Wearing my fathers medals on the right hand side, WW2 medals including the Italy Star and a GSM with Palestine clasp.
There were a few people there, most of whom I know, but to my left is Carol and Bill Bratty, friends of mine. Bill was in the RAF too and also served at RAF Masirah, Oman although not at the same time. His medals are on the left, as they were awarded to him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.