in relative action

When my sister and I were small we had an inexhaustible supply of A4 paper for scribbling on which had a mockup of this dial on the back. We also had larger sheets of yellowish paper, with strange logarithmic rulings in faint orange on one side. Occasionally we had sheets of acetate to play with, which sometimes had angular markings on them and appeared to be a sort of map. When we were small my dad worked for the UKWMO, based in an office next to the Fiskerton radiation monitoring station, virtually identical to that currently preserved as a tourist attraction in Acomb, which was one my dad had to occasionally visit. He and my mum popped up for a surprise visit for the children on the day we'd arranged to pop to the bunker, conveniently located a few feet from where we were staying. We'd been to his office a few times when we were small, including on an open day when the bunker was open for being shown round, but I didn't see the bomb pressure indicator dial nor the decay log graphs back then. We've recently almost used up all the remaining sheets, but I kept a couple safe to frame or otherwise preserve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.