Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Hoo-ray And Up She Rises

Two years ago I completed the NHS Couch to 5K challenge and didn't do any more running until earlier this year. I don't remember how it came about but #2 Daughter and I started off on the NHS Couch to 5K in June. She and I have followed it day by day together ever since. #1 Daughter is also out running but to her own routine.

Part way through it was revealed to my that neither daughter had actually completed this! Today, Kat in a Scottish woodland estate and me in my village set off at 6.20am and did it!

Hoo-ray and up she rises
Hoo-ray and up she rises
Hoo-ray and up she rises
Ear-ly in the mor-ning.

This was my chant from "What Shall We Do With A Drunken Sailor" that suited my jogging pace to keep me putting one foot in front of the other.

So, nowhere near 5K in the 30 minutes of running for me, but on the way.. 68 year-old women can expect to take 50 minutes to do it.

I was feeling very smug about my achievements. An hour later I had bleach-laden water pooling on my kitchen floor from my sink which I had to ignore as I had the boiler engineer arriving to do a routine service.

Half an hour after that I got told my boiler had been condemned due to faults! Oh, dear!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.