Photo-a-day retirement

By mpp26

Calm before my storm!

Yesterday got a bit interesting and not in a good way - went for a walk, took a wrong turn, realised turned to go back and the bank gave way and I slid about 20m on my bottom and ended up trapped in a ditch at the bottom! Realised immediately that I'd either broken or dislocated my shoulder. Took me a while to drag myself out of the ditch too. I was worried I'd faint and being in the bottom of a ditch would make me hard to find.  I managed to drag myself up the slope to cell phone coverage and rang J. She and D came and found me, and D rang the ambulance which came to the end of the track and then they walked in. They gave me some strong pain stuff and I was able to walk out, although I could have been carried, but that would have been more painful. Hours at the hospital, the Dr managed to get the joint back in, and I hadn't broken anything much to his surprise. J was laughing as she heard him telling the nurses how lucky "the old lady was who fell 20m down a bank and didn't break anything". I don't think of myself as an old lady!! But I did think I was really lucky

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.