Hay (fever) time...

I woke up sneezing, coughing, and blowing my nose, but after my allergy meds I felt much better, so we drove an hour out to Gaston to visit Sue's old friends Marj and Sierra. Their house includes art studios for them both,  a pond, and eleven acres, but they are putting it up for sale next month because they can no longer keep it up. We sat on their patio, masked and about 15 feet apart.

They served us home made ginger ale (fresh ginger run through a juicer, a little honey, and some mineral water)--and that cleared my head even better than the allergy meds had done. I'll be out to find some fresh ginger tomorrow. Most of the so-called "natural remedies" I've tried have been complete failures. Nettles make me nauseated. Feverfew gives me a rash. Lavender tastes like antiseptic soap. But this ginger drink WORKS.

It was a scorching hot day: 102 degrees F, 38.8 C. Unusual for Oregon. Sue is off to Yachats tomorrow, Bella & Evan & parents will be camping near the coast, and I'll be plugging on in Portland in the heat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.