Poppy

By Poppy

Why?

I first saw this plant growing in a friend's garden in Fife. Theirs is a large, rambling, wildlife friendly plot, with trees and ponds etc, but I was quite taken by the interesting flowers so took a cutting. It is too big for the spot it's in, but I have read that hard pruning in the spring is the way to go. I do like it and it seems to be happy up here!

The plant is Leycesteria, otherwise known as Pheasant Berry because of the tasty berries it produces, irresistible to pheasants! If they is one thing I do not want, it is to encourage them! So far they have kept out the back, veg, garden, but they are regular visitors in the front one!

Lottie, the dozens of sparrows, the odd rabbit, together with slugs and snails, are doing their best to thwart the productivity of the garden, without pheasants coming to the party!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.