"Out of the Shadows"

That is the title of the recent publication of Vivian Maier's work - went to a lecture by the two that have put put this tribute together. She lived in Chicago, worked as a nanny, and shot with a Rolliflex which is my favorite of my own cameras. So I do feel a connection to this gal - her shots were not known except by the those who developed the film. During her lifetime, she took about 100,000 shots largely on 120 film - her interest was in recording daily life. However what has her work stand apart is her eye and compositional skills. They say that every roll had between 1 and 4 shots that were stellar.

So looking through her work and seeing that it is as about all over the place as mine I am heartened. Depends on where you are that day. I cleaned today - the tiny houseboat was quite grimy. This was my reward, my favorite weeds which are definitely turning to dust themselves. So I wanted to capture them before that is all that is left! And no flash - hate flash - hope to take a two day workshop all on natural light in March.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.