Grapevine

By Babrecila

Family Visit.

This is my daughter -in-law who came to see me with my eldest son. In the extra, he is sorting through transparencies to transfer to a DVD. We had a meal together and then watched the VJ Day memorial on TV. A day I remember very well aged 11. In the morning I went with the Brownies and Cubs to St Columba's Mission Hall, Cambridge, to say a  prayer and sing a hymn, then back to our street party. A piano was brought out into the street for my mother to play and I remember fish paste or spam sandwiches, currant buns and lemonade. I did know what went on during the war as I found out where the newspapers were hidden from us children. Also a bomb fell 10 doors away from our house in Vicarage Terrace killing 9 people. June 18th 1940. I have spoken on the radio about my experiences as an evacuee from London aged 5.  .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.