Negative

I noted my blocked ear on the Covid reporting App we are using and yesterday a message came through asking me to go and be tested.  I completed the online form and watched the 'what to expect at the drive-through testing station' video and, surprisingly the appointment times came through immediately, giving us an hour to get organised and down to the Leisure Centre.  I felt for the team on duty as the only cover they had was one of those open gazebo tents and it must have been tough during the very hot days to be out in it all day (and tough today in the rain).  We were instructed to keep our windows up so the car, once parked, quickly grew warm.  

It wasn't quite like the video!  One of the team showed me a number on the back of a block he held up to my window and it took me some short while to understand that he was asking me to ring the number and that the block was a phone!  We were then connected and he explained that he was going to pass me the testing kit and we had to park up where instructed and carry out the test.

I struggled to see my tonsils!!  So it was a bit hit and miss doing the throat swab and I was glad the nose swab was easier.  The swab was then sealed in a vial of liquid which in turn was sealed in a ziplock bag and placed in a bio-secure bag.  We then drove to the other side of the carpark and showed another member of the team how I had packaged it.  He was happy so the bio-secure bag was sealed and dropped in a box and we were away.  The result came through just as we were going to bed last night, thankfully negative.  I'm impressed that it was turned around in less than 48 hours.  There was a steady stream of folks arriving.

The weather has been dreich today so I've started another jigsaw, deciding to have a quiet day.  After lunch I took a turn around the moor in the drizzle to capture the heather, which is looking fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.