No one is looking at this

By Limey

Dolores O'Riordan's grave

So, my family are neighbours to the O'Riardons down in SW Ireland.  I didn't know Dolores particularly well (she was about 7 years older than me), but I am good friends with one of her first cousins. She sang in our church every weekend until the Cranberries took off. Just imagine this multi-pierced, spiky emo Curehead rocking up and belting out the hymns like it was no big deal... it just wasn't done back like that back in the day. I remember she was actually really quiet, which contrasted a lot with how she looked, but we all thought she was dead cool :-) Anyway, I promised Dolores' cousin, who lives in the Middle East, that I'd see the grave the next time I was down home. It was really nice to see the respectful mementos left by fans from all around the world: poems, ribbons, sketches, and the rest. I knew her dad Terry as well. Now HE was a right character! :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.