Heather on Walla Crag

Took a shortish walk over Walla Crag today - the heather is out (early this year). I tried this picture at various apertures up to f22, but still couldn't get front to back sharpness, so I shot it as a focus stack of 5 images at f8, to keep maximum quality and ensure full sharpness.

For info on focus stacking see HERE

I also added to my lens collection (yes, really) - with a 60 year old Meyer Gorlitz Primotar 135mm. Why buy such an old lens when modern lenses are sharper, have autofocus, and actually fit the camera without adatptors. - It's a bit like Vinyl v CDs: They have a soft, fluid quality, a gentle tonal quality, but the best bokeh I've ever seen in a lens. I experimented with a couple of crystal glasses this afternoon - focusing on the near one, and getting that wonderful "bubble bokeh" on the rear. I'm really happy with it, and hope to really get the chance to use it soon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.