LD 148. Not thankful

I had to drive to Parliament and back today .

I left home at 5.30 , got to the traffic lights at the Old Military Rd diversion at the Rest and Be Thankful at 6.10 and was moving through it within 5 minutes .

Not so bad , I thought. But when I got into my office just after 8.30 one of the first emails I saw was informing stakeholders that the diversion would close at 1.00 because of an adverse forecast and would not be assessed again until tomorrow morning.

So my route back tonight has been via Western Ferries and good as that service is it will have added extra time if not extra miles to an already very long day .

So when I say to constituents that I understand the problems caused and very much want a speedy permanent solution I am not just empathising with them , I am speaking from experience too .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.