earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

One Bright Moment

On the day of the inevitable government U-turn on the mechanism for determining student's A-level results. Instead of many poor students being well and truly stuffed, it's now the poor universities that are going to feel the pain. The level of incompetence is so staggering that it beggars belief. I can't begin to think what it must be like to be a teacher right now and have one's profession so disrespected. It was scarcely credible that Gavin Williamson was given the job of Education Secretary in the first place. How can he possibly carry on now? Can there be a single person in the entire country who thinks he is competent in post? At a time when we so desperately need leadership, all we have is the most abject cronyism. I've not felt so angry in a very long while as I have these last few days. 

A pattern is developing. The government makes a terrible decision and everyone knows it. We get nothing but denial - until public opinion voices such outrage that there is no choice but to reverse the decision - always with an excuse and someone else to blame. This is no way to manage a country. The problems are undoubtedly complex in unprecedented ways, but even with only half a brain, I think I could do a better job than this bunch of idiots. Just had to get that off my chest. It helps me cope.

This photo was my bright moment of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.