Gone fishing

Tuesday 18th August 2020

When I was at my friend's the other Sunday getting the little people to help with the lace, I accidentally left these fishermen behind. They've had quite an adventure this week, while I've been away. I went round to collect them tonight and found them in her garden. I overheard quite a conversation. 

The waves were lapping around the side of the Tabgha pond as the men stood in the last of the sunlight. 
"Look" shouted Andrew, as he held up his fish. "St Peter's fish!"
"Guys" said James quietly.
"That must be at least 3.5lbs, a good size" Simon replied, as he ignored James and held his arms out to get an idea of the size of fish his brother was holding. "Good job we decided to fish on the other side tonight, we didn't catch anything last night."
"Guys" said James, a little louder.
"I'm really hungry after all this fishing. Did you bring any bread with you Simon?" Andrew asked. 
"Guys! I've caught something." James' voice was filled with excitement.
"No, I thought you were bringing it." Simon scolded his brother.
Getting frustrated that he wasn't being heard James raised his voice, "Guys! Listen! I've caught something and it's a big one."
Simon laughed and without turning round to look at James said, "I suppose it's this big is it." as he opened his arms a little wider than before.
"I guess we're going to go hungry tonight then." Andrew sulked. 
"Guys!!", shouted James, "I'm serious! This one's big. In fact it seems to be multiplying. I've no idea how we're going to bring it in."
Finally, Simon and Andrew started paying attention to James. They could see his rod was bending so much it was likely to break. They rushed to his side to help him pull the line in. It took all their strength. 
"You're not kidding. This is quite a size. Certainly bigger than Andrew's." Simon was now interested and giving James and the big fish his full attention. For a while the three men wrestled the fish, which was so big the line almost broke.
"Well, that's two fish we've caught this evening. But James has certainly beaten you Andrew." Simon patted James on the back. 
"It's certainly a whopper" Andrew admitted, "We're not going hungry tonight. Looks like you could feed 5000 with that one and there'd still be plenty left over." 
"Don't exaggerate. Anyway, it's a pity you left the bread behind." Simon reminded his brother. "I just fancy a fish butty."
"It's ok", James jumped in to stop any argument "My brother, John, will be here shortly. He's got 5 small loaves with him. We're going to have a great feast."
Simon and Andrew let out a cheer "Praise be to God." 
   
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.