Medal Ceremony

So proud of Julia who was awarded clasps to her Iraq and Afghanistan campaign medals this morning. Two tours of Afghanistan, multiple trips in and out of Syria, and I didn't even know she'd been operating in Iraq!
The clasps signify that she was on active service during the campaigns and on multiple tours, not stuck on a camp. She was patrolling with the regiments on an almost daily basis, more often than not coming under fire. Some pretty horrendous occasions involving IED's resulting in the comment in appraisals that she was very courageous.
She was in her 'Number 1' uniform this morning but I think she's more comfortable in her camouflage!
Wonder what the twins will think of their mummy when they grow up, I expect they'll be as proud of her as I am of my father.
Such a brave young woman, but she's still our baby :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.