jennym999

By jennym999

Cape gooseberries

My blip shows some of the first ripe cape gooseberries (physalis) . They are smaller than those you get in shops and the fruit inside is not as orange coloured, however they taste fine. This is the first time I have attempted to grow them, I had a free packet of seeds with the Kitchen Garden magazine so decided to give them a try during ‘lockdown’. They took ages to germinate and only 5 developed into small plants. I have three plants away so need to check how they have done. However eventually they got going and are now about three feet tall, each plant in a big pot.

A lovely sunny day. Went to visit a distant relative. We had not met previously but went to pick up an old tea set which had been bequeathed to my husband by her mother.
A quick bike ride round Thames Ditton area passing the ‘beach’ on the Thames opposite Hampton Court. I have never noticed people swimming there and families with .yo) g children until this summer. At least a hundred people there this afternoon, the majority were teenagers.

Lots of traffic in the area and huge queues over Kingston Bridge both ways.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.