Jeanettie6

By Jeanettie6

Kung Hei Fat Choi

It's Chinese New Year today, the Year of the Snake, so I set off this morning to go to Trafalgar Square to watch the celebrations.

I didn't arrive there until 10.30 due to 'engineering works at Greenwich' and missed the parade ,which travelled from Trafalgar Square and on to Chinatown. I decided to stay in the Square though, as I'd found a space with a very good view right at the front and waited for the opening ceremony, the Dotting of the Eye ceremony to bring the dragons and lions to life, dragon dance etc. I stood there for about two and a half hours until I was totally drenched by the persistent rain and my fingers had turned into ice poles! I could hardly feel my camera as my hands were so cold, but managed to get some photos, complete with rain drop stains and a very wet lense!

Apparently though, they said that if it rains, it's supposed to bring good luck!

Happy Year of the Snake to you all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.