Summer Pleasures

Trying to capture summer colors and soak in the heat while I can...
 
Today it was Jackson Field and it felt like being home again since I hadn't been there since early March.  I checked on the progress of the bridge construction at Wiley Creek.  The workers were on the opposite side taking a break.  Not much to report.  Wood forms up for concrete sides.  A saunter down to the river and I met some nice people with dogs.  It was refreshing to hear the sound of the water so I sat on a rock enjoying it until I got too hot. The reflection of the sun off the rocks was almost blinding. 
 
The field was 6-8' high in places, and full of wildflowers in bloom:  wingstem, ironweed, milkweed, and others I can't identify.  While exploring this goldenrod bunch gall midge, I found a little tree frog inside, no bigger than my smallest fingernail!  He was very patient while I took a dozen photos, trying not to disturb him in his resting spot.  The gall is created by an insect laying eggs in the spring (see link above if you're interested). I thought it was going to be an aster-like flower until I researched further.

Hope you all have a good evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.