The Cuillin, Skye

It rained in the night so we took the opportunity of the dry morning to walk to the village of Arisaig. The RC church had a commonwealth war cemetery and at seafront was a memorial to Czechs and Slovaks who had trained in the area and had been killed in WW2.

We went to the little harbour which advertised sea trips but they said the forecast was too bad to sail today or tomorrow. Too bad as it has been calm all day.

On our return the tide was our so I had a beach wander and took the blip of the Cuillin. We were up there believe it or not. I can still feel the fear!

I got back to the van just as the rain started. We spent the afternoon reading, in my case “This Game of Ghosts” an autobiography by the climber Joe Simpson. I read it years ago but after seeing him in a TV programme revisiting the route his father marched in Burma in WW2 I wanted to read it again.

Now the sun is out and it’s a glorious evening here though we can’t see Skye or Eigg or Rhum to the west or the Munros to the NE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.