Keto

I'm not much of a one for photographing my food but this week, since Tuesday anyway, I've been trying to stick to a Keto diet. Today it was scrambled eggs and bacon for breakfast, mid afternoon I had the breast of chicken, French beans (from the garden), mushrooms, cornichons shown in the photograph. Tonight I had a cheese omelette. So you don't go hungry, just got to get used to a different way of eating.
It's a very low carb high fat diet so I'm not eating any bread, rice, cereals, potatoes sugary fruit etc. But I am eating lots of meat, even bacon and sausage but mostly chicken although yesterday I had a huge rib eye steak. Cream or full fat milk in tea and coffee, but mostly drinking water.
You can overdo it with bits like the cream, Started Tuesday evening and by Thursday morning I'd lost 4lbs (2kg). During the day I drank a lot of coffee with cream and this morning, Friday, I'm up half a pound which isn't much but I'm learning as I go along and it's getting easier.
I'm going to make some cottage pies but using a cauliflower topping. Boil the cauliflower so it's not too soft (it's going to be cooked in the oven later), break it down with a hand blender and add butter, cream, a small amount of cream cheese, salt, pepper, egg yolks. I'm quite looking forward to that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.