Saturday's painting...

... My digital daily painting for today.
I was trying to use layers, but it doesn't feel intuitive. It feels like I am going back to the 'bad' old days of screen printing which was a long torturous process of massive silk screens (one for each colour) and masks that had to be fixed on, and the different colours with the squeegee and aligning...all having to be worked out beforehand. I used to make these large posters for the printing firm (I was only supposed to be a gopher then, tea/errand girl, women were not allowed to do that work and neither was I allowed to belong to a union, but the men discovered I was a quick and very capable learner, so I learnt one heck of a lot and got to do many things and operate machinery...I never got to make the tea, they made it for me).

So, doing these layers took me back to those days (I must be in my dotage reminiscing...).

Here is my layer digital painting offering. 7 layers. I made it up as I went along. No reference material, just what my hand drew...The dragon popped in from nowhere, and I used a zombie skin brush to get his scales...

I vowed while I was doing this painting that I was NOT going to do another painting with layers, but Brain has come up with some new potential ideas....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.