The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

New Project

This is an oil painting on a black gessoed canvas. We are working on chiaroscuro art, light and dark. Our mission is to do a still life on black having form appear with the use of dark and light. Two of us are to use only cool colors. Three only warm. For us cool painters, we can only use 1/3 of the color wheel from ultramarine violet to turquoise. I’ve just started. I have my drawing and am now sketching in with paint the passage of light And dark values. Next I’ll paint. I can use the complementary colors of the cools but the result must always stay on the cool side neutrals. I cheated a bit on this because I didn’t set up a still life but am using a photo I took of light coming through my bedroom curtains as my subject.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.