simisue

By simisue

STONE LABYRINTH

Back in June I posted a Blip of this native OAK TREE in all its glory.
Since then, a local man & his daughters built a STONE LABYRINTH
in front of it. (SEE EXTRA)  as a COVID-19 project. I can't think of a better tribute to this sentinel tree.

The first LABYRINTH appeared in Greek mythology, but it has since
been adopted by other religious, including Christianity.  This ancient symbol combines a circle & a spiral into a meandering purposeful path.  The walk taken through a LABYRINTH is symbolic of a journey into our center, then back into the world.  It is used for spiritual centering, contemplation, prayer or meditation. It is a place to quiet our minds with spiritual exercise. 
Now, more than ever, this practice seems relevant.

LABYRINTHS are often located near churches or retreat centers.
The World Labyrinth Locator (labyrinthlocator.com) estimates there are 5900 worldwide.  I entered my city in the website & discovered there is a 
LABYRINTH at an Episcopal Church near my house.  

LABYRINTHS are sometimes confused with MAZES, but they are very different.  The corn mazes of the US midwest are a kind of puzzle, with 
dead ends & false paths.  They can be fun, but also frustrating & even frightening.  A LABYRINTH is a contemplative path, with only 1 way to reach the center, & has a spiritual purpose.  

Before COVID-19, when we travelled, I always looked for public gardens to explore.  When I am able to travel again, I will also look for LABYRINTHS.
This LABYRINTH  near the Oak tree will always be my favorite. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.