Ebb and Flow

I am at the dining room table typing, and Rhubarb is quietly sitting in my lap, something he never has done before. It’s strange. One more strange thing in a very strange world. We spend a few hours at the beach again. The air is clearer, you can walk easily. 


I sat on a stump for awhile at the beach, looking at this view. How straight the horizon is, how long. How immense the ocean, and relentless. The sound is soothing, the ebb and flow relaxing. My whole body feels like its been pummeled. I try to breathe deeply and shake out my arms and legs. Mr S walked further on, but i just want to sit here and look out. A wonderful red dog chases his toy back and forth into the water. He is so energetic and enthusiastic. It’s clear he is having one heck of a good time. And he is a good boy, learning to return to his person and sit quietly by her side, waiting for another throw. It really made my day to watch these two. It made me laugh. Imagine that.

This morning I saw a woodpecker in our yard, a first. He was testing the fruit trees and the fence, giving things a good whack. It made us wonder about the wildlife from the mountains. Have animals escaped? To where? Will we see more creatures down here in town? So much habitat has been lost.

People’s habitats have been lost as well. So many displaced folks. So much upheaval. People are crowding into shelters. I hope Covid protection hasn’t been forgotten, but when you’re running away it would be hard to remember to wear a mask.
Nothing bad has happened to us, but it’s hard to stay calm. It’s hard to try and figure out what the right decisions are. It’s hard when everything seems so random.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.