AnnieBelle

By AnnieBelle

Dereliction (of duty) and related matters

M was (slightly) derelict in his duty to refrain from vaping in the bedroom but when he did, he was amazed by what he saw. The vapour filled the broad shaft of morning sunlight coming through the window, which in turn contains a shadow of the cat's head and ears. I too had to leave the bed to take the photo but our imprints remain.

Then I got to thinking about the unmade bed as a photographic trope. Famous ones are by US photographer Jack Leigh and UK artist Tracey Emin. I've come to see my photo as a faceless self portrait of us, the details of which the vapour does little if anything to obscure.

Such light quickly disappears so there was no time to change anything, and nor would I want to. In addition to the unmade bed: the cat, throw, objects on the bedside table and beside the bed are as they were when I got up to take the photo. These things may also be seen as a bit of Sunday morning domestic dereliction, which like all dereliction tells a story.

Thanks for hosting Marlieske. Stay well all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.