Scotia Barrens: Late Summer Road

We went to the gamelands road by the shooting range in the Scotia Barrens so my husband could have his weekly jog. I told him if he left early enough in the morning, I'd go along. Later in the day, it just gets too hot for me, as I am not a lover of the heat.

It is my custom to take my camera and photograph the scenery and the butterflies while he runs. And I did, and I saw a few butterflies: at least one monarch, a swallowtail or two, and a few friendly red-spotted purples. But it's nowhere near the numbers we had last summer, which is concerning to all of us who love butterflies.

There are actually two parallel roads. The one into the shooting range is open to vehicular traffic. This one - that he jogs and I walk on - is closed, and it is quite flat and excellent for running, biking, and hiking. I took a long shot looking down it, and I think it sort of captures a feel of the place.

There is a little tree shadow in front of me, of a skinny little tree. The edges of the road are lined with Queen Anne's lace and chicory and daisies and pokeweed. When I walk in the sunshine, I'm a bit warm. In the shade, it is still pretty comfy. Up ahead to the left, just beyond all those shadows, is a big milkweed patch that I always check for butterflies.

It has been very dry here this summer, and on this day, my county in central Pennsylvania, Centre County, issued a drought watch, with this statement: The State College coop weather site has reported its driest stretch on record from July 1st through August 20th with just 1.62" of rainfall. Normal for this 52-day stretch is 6.30". (Yes, those are inches.)

So we water what plants we can water, we do what we can to help keep the critters in our yard well hydrated, and we pray for rain. Somehow this is the song that came to mind as being fitting for a dry season. I just adored it when it came out in 1978, and it still sounds good to me now: Germany-based disco band Boney M, with Rivers of Babylon.

Also, for once, look at the comments, starting with Robbie from Germany's quote: "If you are reading this, I wish you a beautiful life." What are you sharing on social media? Love, or hate? I think Robbie gets a big gold star, don't you? Let's be more like Robbie, shall we?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.