EB for Dad's 92nd birthday

I cannot believe I didn't think to take a picture of Dad today, especially when that's the whole point of being down this way ... So I'm afraid a very distant shot of the A30 full of traffic as I approach it on my way back to the hotel.

Dad wanted to find some particular cassette tapes from many, many moons ago and to see if they would still work. In particular, a recording of what was obviously a spectacular thunderstorm (we found it) with birdsong before and after and even Mum making a comment. We also found other treasures; my Grandma speaking about her life, my Grandpa ditto, and my Great Grandfather talking about Lord Kitchener for whom he did some work. The church bells ringing at home towers - one recording of the 10 bells at Reigate where I met LH in 1983. Plus me playing the organ quite competently back in 1976!!! I could go on. But sound is particularly evocative and Dad and I spent hours playing these things and reminiscing. More socially distanced family came over to see Dad later and I even managed to see my brother and sil later.

Dad's memory isn't as sharp (he'd no recollection of meeting Berry last Christmas or of his short walk on the Mynd on Christmas Day). Slightly worrying but his life is incredibly introverted now and his mind hasn't even his old weekly bellringing excursions any more because of The Situation. He's also lost quite a bit of weight ; he needs a bit more supervision i think - but he's determined to do his own thing.

LH called to say that we've received an offer on the house. It's well below the asking price and they've not got a buyer for theirs yet so we've decided to make very encouraging noises and hope they find a buyer soon so we can actually progress things. But a boost nonetheless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.