Life through the lens...

By ValC

Galet

Awful day!
Snow first thing, turned to rain.
Haven't been out except to feed the birds.

Decided to have a look at the manual for my new (ish) camera.
I don't like it when they come as a disc, and not in a booklet. (Old fashioned me!)
136 pages!!

Got less than half way!
Anyhow have learnt quite a lot.

Still trying to master macro shots. This is one. Not quite what I wanted, but will have to do.

So you want to know what it is?

Well it is a "galet" a stone to you and me, but that's what the French call them.

Two years ago we went wine tasting at a lovely vineyard in Cairanne. (Vaucluse, Northern Provence).
Bruno Boisson, who's family have owned the vineyard for gererations, gave us a lovely tasting, and spoke very good English.
The wine we liked best was from their small plot of land in the Massif d' Uchaux.
I mentioned the stones which cover the soil, and he told me that there the stones were different to those in Chateauneuf du Pape, just down the road.
He brought two stones to show me. One very smooth and rounded, (Chateauneuf) and one very sharp and knobbly (Uchaux)
Explained how the minerals were different, giving the grapes, and wine different flavours.
The French wine is all about "terroir".
Anyhow he gave them to me to keep so that I would remember what he had told me.
So this is the Uchaux galet.
And a link to the vineyard.
see here
We will be back for some more wine in June!

Hope you have all had a good weekend inspite of the weather!
At least I have made the most of staying in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.