Yum

Just wanted to share a recipe I made up for Cavovlo Nero soup as so many people asked on my FB account yesterday when I send a quick iPhone snap on Insta story.

So it goes ..

For a big pot feeding 4/6 people:

Whole bag of Cavolo Nero 200g chopped up leaves only (stalks can be removed or chopped in small size and added to the soup in the beggining)
3 large potatoes
1 big or 2 small leeks (those were from my garden, can be any size)
small bunch of beetroot stalks with leaves if possible
2 carrots
3 large beef tomatoes (those were from my garden, can be any size)
6 cloves of garlic 
bunch of herbs (sage, rosemary, oregano, dill)
2 heaps of vegetable stock (I used homemade in Thermomix), but cubes can be too
1 cup of uncooked pearled spelt
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
1 teaspoon turmeric
2 small dried chillies 
Big dollop of garlic olive oil or just plain
Big dollop of butter
Salt & Pepper

In a big pot heat some oil and add garlic until releases aroma.
Add chopped leeks and fry for a minute or so adding butter.
Add peeled and cubed potatoes, fry for a bit.
Add the rest of chopped vegetables (beetroot, black kale & tomatoes) and fry for a short while.
Add water so it covers the lot plus a little bit more as you will be adding cooked spelt at the end of cooking soup.
Now add the veg stock.
Bring to boil and reduce the heat so it cooks slowly.

In the meantime cover spelt with hot water in a separate pot and soak for about 20min, then bring to boil and do so for 15 minutes, rinse.

The soup should be seasoned at this time, so add herbs, can be loose or can be tied with a string.
Add paprika and turmeric. Add chillies.
I also add few more chopped garlic cloves as I love the taste.

Cook for another few minutes or so, checking if the potatoes are soft and if soup needs more spices like salt and pepper.
At the really end add cooked spelt and stir thoroughly.

I served it with Greek Yogurt I made with pressed few garlic gloves (yay love garlic) and garnished with finely chopped chives and mustard cress.

Enjoy :)

A xo

Ps. I love Coconut Bowls I have been using for a while now and those can be purchased at www.coconutbowls.com if anyone is interested (this is not a sponsored ad at all)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.