Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Colchicum

TonyG stayed for a few days, and has very kindly gifted us some treasures from his garden.  This mini colchicum was already sprouting when he brought it on Sunday, and I did manage to get it (and its 6 companions) in to the ground on Monday, before Storm Francis hit us on Tuesday.

And what a gorgeous flower it has produced.  Almost geometrical patterns on the petals.

Tony was determined to keep us busy!  We have a whole host of hoop petticoat daffs, and a lot more larger colchicum to find places for before we go away on Monday - so hoping for decent weather for the rest of this week.

Meanwhile in extras is a photo of Teddy wearing a first attempt at a jacket - made, as suggested by Billygoat yesterday, from an old duvet cover, and I haven't yet set in any sleeves.  But it has indicated the areas where I want to alter the pattern to make the lapels a little more flamboyant, and will allow me to experiment in making "tails" before committing myself to cutting out the purple velvet.  

I could abandon this jacket at this stage, but it is so nearly finished, that I think I will finish it off - you never know, Robin might like wearing a jacket made from an old duvet cover!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.