Socks Ops

I've started my covert ops for Socks the fox. This has been the culmination of many dog walks where I saw a fox and have gone back today to the same place and seen it/another again. 

The plan of action which I executed to the nth degree was thwarted drastically by human intervention. 

Take car to lay-by by the railway crossing - tick 
Windows subtly down - tick
Beanbag on window frame  - tick
Battery, card, long lens on and all out of window - tick
Checking through lens and yes fox asleep and joyfully in my sights - tick 
Ready to play the waiting game - tick

In the field next door opposite me are horses and a man chose this very time to start collecting for his manure heap. The magpies flew up, the rabbits scarpered and the fox which I think is Socks put his ears up, got up and stretched, then casually sauntered into the hedgerow under the railway line. Never to return. 

I amused myself taking shots of the rabbits near the car for a good hour - how long does it take to clear up after a couple of horses?!! Time trundled on and I headed home.

Very Watership Down I thought as I buried myself behind the lens checking out the rabbits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.